SQL Agent Properties

It’s been a rather windy summer thus far, making it less fun to be out on the water.  I don’t know many guys who enjoyed being blasted by the wind while bobbing up and down on the waves for hours on end.  I went out on Pewaukee Lake a few weeks ago with a buddy from work.  We had picked the day in advance since it was supposed to be dry and calm.  We got the dry, but not the calm.  We had a stiff wind blowing out of the west that drove us back into the western half of the lake after trying to fish the narrows in the middle.

I spent the day focusing my fishing efforts on making the bait look real.  I tried hard to avoid retrieving the lure in a rhythmic fashion.  I was paid off with a nice upper 30s muskie:

June 2017 Pewaukee Muskie.jpg

My fishing buddy hooked one a short time later, but couldn’t keep it pinned and we lost it.

Recently, I blogged about migrating the SQL Server installation onto a different drive.  I did find one problem after this move that I had to address.  I ran into a problem with the SQL Agent and I wasn’t able to diagnose the issue.  If I remember correctly it was actually an SSRS subscription that failed, and I needed details to find out why.  I found that the SQL Agent has properties, and the error log was still pointing back at the previous location on the C: drive, which no longer existed.  There is a stored procedure you can execute to see those properties, in addition to looking at them in the SSMS UI:

EXEC msdb..sp_get_sqlagent_properties

20170712 SQL Agent Properties.PNG

Lastly, just update the value with the corresponding SET stored procedure and restart the SQL Agent:

EXEC msdb..sp_set_sqlagent_properties 
   @errorlog_file = N'D:\SQLSERVERINSTALL\SQLAGENTERRORLOG.log'

Now your SQL Agent properties have been update.

Leave a Reply

