Moving the SQL Server Installation to a Different Drive

Following fishing regulations is very important.  We as a society are called to be responsible stewards of our natural resources, and that includes fish.  Overfishing, poaching, and spreading invasive species can all decimate a lake’s fish population, ruining it for everyone else.  I was disheartened to see a news article this week about a man caught with over 2,500 panfish in his freezer.  The legal limit is 50 per species, so he would have been allowed to possess 150 fish.  Hopefully the story of his guilt will dissuade other poachers, but given his rather light sentence, I doubt that will be the case.

I recently needed to install SQL Server Analysis Services (SSAS) on our test server to begin experimenting with it.  However, the C drive, where SQL Server was installed, had only a few hundred MBs of space left.  When installing SSAS on the existing instance of SQL Server, you are forced to use the same drive and I didn’t have enough space.  I decided to move the existing installation from the C drive to the D drive, which had plenty of available space.

There isn’t any way to move the existing installation, so I was forced to uninstall SQL Server on the C drive, then install it on the D drive.  Here are the steps I followed:

  1. Take a backup of all the databases, just in case.  This is always a good first step when making any significant changes to your environment.
  2. Run the Uninstall Wizard through Windows Control Panel to remove all SQL Server components.
  3. Reinstall SQL Server on the D drive.  I found I had to use an actual iso to do the install rather than the extracted contents of the iso.  When I tried to use the extracted contents I kept running into errors about missing msi files.
  4. Apply any service pack and patches to the installation so it is at least at the same version as the uninstalled instance.  If you skip this step you will not be able to restore/attach any of your existing databases to the new instance.
  5. At this point I expected to be able to move my existing master database file into the new default data folder, but I found my existing master database file had disappeared!  The uninstall must have deleted it.
  6. Instead, I started up SQL Server with the -m parameter in the SQL Server Configuration Manager’s SQL Server Advanced Properties.  This causes SQL Server to start up in single user mode, and only the master database comes online.
  7. Now restore the last backup of the master database:
    C:\> sqlcmd  
    1> RESTORE DATABASE master FROM DISK = 'Z:\SQLServerBackups\master.bak' WITH REPLACE;  
    2> GO
  8. When the restore is complete the service will stop.  Remove the -m parameter and start SQL back up.
  9. At this point everything came up as expected.  There were a few cleanup tasks to complete before I was finished:
  • Reconfigure Reporting Services.
    • During the install I had chosen to install but not configure so that I could plug into my existing SSRS databases.
  • Configure Powershell
    • The msdb.dbo.syssubsystems table contains information about Powershell that SQL Server uses when executing a PS script.  Mine was pointing to a subsystem dll and agent exe that were in the old installation location.  I updated this directly in the table with an UPDATE statement.

Once complete, SQL was ready to use, I had SSAS installed, and I opened up an additional 3 GB of hard drive space on the C drive, relieving the fear of crashing the OS.

One thought on “Moving the SQL Server Installation to a Different Drive

  1. Pingback: SQL Agent Properties | The Fisherman DBA

Leave a Reply

