Oracle not available: shared memory realm does not exist

Last month I got the opportunity to do some fishing that I have never done before.  Through a work event, I was able to go out and do some trolling for salmon in Lake Michigan.  Usually I’m not a big fan of trolling.  You don’t get to feel the fish hit and there is no technique when working the bait.  We were basically just dragging 9 – 11 lines behind the boat with varying baits and depths, and waiting for the fish to bite.  I did end up enjoying it quite a bit though.  It was much more relaxing – I could just sit back in a deck chair and wait for one of the poles to start frantically bobbing.  My arms and sides were already sore from a weekend of muskie fishing, so it was nice to be able to take a break and do some easy fishing.  We ended up catching a bunch of coho salmon.  They put up great fights and were delicious table fare.

Coho Salmon

Every so often I run into an issue where Oracle doesn’t come back up after a server reboot.  Attempting to log in via SQLPlus gives a message indicating that Oracle is not available and the shared memory realm does not exist.

20160711 Oracle not available error

I’m not sure what exactly causes this, but if it were to happen every time I would check the logs to investigate further.  However, for now I’m just interested in bringing it back up.  A server reboot can be attempted, but there is a quicker way.  First open sqlplus without attempting to log into an instance.

20160711 Oracle not available sqlplus nolog

Next connected to the instance as sysdba.

20160711 Oracle not available conn to idle instancwe

Now shutdown the instance cleanly.

20160711 Oracle not available shutdown abort

I use the abort option, which will close any connections immediately.  Since the database was unavailable anyway, I’m not really concerned about any in-process transactions.  The last step is to start the instance back up.

20160711 Oracle not available startup

Now the database is back online and ready for use.  To test this I exit out of SQLPlus and log back in with my standard user.

20160711 Oracle not available all better

No error message received and I’m good to go.

Leave a Reply

