SSRS report with groups in separate, named tabs

The 2015 fishing season is drawing to a close. Last weekend we closed my Grandpa’s cabin up in Northern Wisconsin for the year. I spent most of my non-working time doing some deer hunting, but I did get in about two hours of fishing after taking out the pier. As I reflected on my lack of success, I realized that I don’t really do too well after the lake turns over. Turnover is the process a lake goes through in the fall as the water temperature falls. Once the surface temperature gets colder than the deeper water (the water below the thermocline), it gets heavier and sinks to the bottom, which stirs up the entire lake. With water temperature and oxygen content evenly distributed over the entire lake, the fish can literally be anywhere. As I was fishing I marked pods of baitfish sitting on the bottom in 40 feet of water. It’s awfully tough to get down that down when using artificial bait. Another factor to consider is that cisco spawn around this time of year, so the muskies have no reason to be anywhere but near these clouds of fish. I did spend a bit of time trying to fish near these pods by vertical jigging a Fuzzy Duzzit, but got no action. I did manage a 21″ northern, but aside from that I saw nothing.

Cisco spawn in the late fall.

Cisco spawn in the late fall.

I got a request recently for a SSRS report that would have results grouped by one field, with page breaks between the different groupings. The user also wanted the report to download into Excel with each separate tab being named the group by field’s value. I’d never done this before, so I did a bit of research and built the report as specified. It was actually fairly easy to accomplish. Here are steps I used to create the report.
1. First build the report with a grouping. For this particular report, I grouped on a field called Vendor.
20151106 Report
2. Next go into the properties for the row group. Check the option to create a page break between each instance of the group.
20151106 Sorting
3. It usually also makes sense to sort on the group, so the page breaks are in some intelligible order.
20151106 Page Breaks
4. Lastly, select the group and expand the properties menu for the Group section. Change the PageName property so it is taken from the value you are grouping on.
20151106 Page Names
Now we just build and deploy the report, run it, and export it to Excel to see the results of our work.
20151106 Excel
Using this functionality can really make a report useful and polished. Your users will appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

